BIA Now Accepting HIP Applications


















2018 Kiowa Tribe General Election Results, pending challenge period.

The Kiowa Newspaper can be picked up, in Carnegie at the Kiowa Tribal Complex, Bank of Commerce, the Indian Clinic, Hop n Sack, Carnegie Lumber, B-3 Convenience Store, the Kiowa Gift Shop, the AOA Center and the Tax Commission office. In Anadarko at the Indian Clinic, the Kiowa Housing Authority, Darko Affordable Housing Solutions, Warrior Mart, and Oklahoma Indian Arts and Crafts Cooperative. In Lawton at the Indian Hospital and Comanche Gift Shop. In Mt. View at Hop n Sack. In Hobart at Sunny’s Convenience Store. In Apache at Hop n Sack. In Oklahoma City at the Indian Climi

All items, including stories and images in the Kiowa Newsletter are the property of the Kiowa Tribe. Duplications of any material in the publication is prohibited without approval of an authorized staff member. Comments, pictures and story ideas for the Newspaper or Tribal website are greatly appreciated. Those items may be sent to

Click the link below for the latest newspaper. 


July 21, 2018-KIC special meeting in Red buffalo Hall. Doors open for registration at 8am.


The Carnegie Chamber of Commerce Ambassadors Orval Williams, James Powers and Terri Johnson joins the Kiowa Vice-Chairman Charles Eisenberger, Oklahoma Senator Anastasia A. Pittman-District 48 Co-Chair of the Oklahoma Native American Caucus, Kiowa Princess Renora Corriveau, Kiowa Tribe Chairman Matt Komalty and Chamber Ambassadors Kelly Williams and Bryce Marshall.
Symbolically Cutting the ribbon is Penelope Williams, Granddaughter of Beth Gooday.


Follow us

Kiowa Tribe

The Kiowa Tribe Head Start Program is now accepting applications. Applications can be picked up at the KCA Head Start Center at 1401 N.E. Lawrie Tatum Road, Lawton, Oklahoma, Little Rabbits Center at 1602 American Street, Anadarko, Oklahoma, Kiowa Tribe Head Start Office, Kiowa Tribal Complex Carnegie, Oklahoma from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday-Friday or go to for enrollment applications.

Kiowa Tribe Head Start is a federally funded program which provides a research-based curriculum, comprehensive health, nutrition, social services, family engagement and other services to children ages 3 to 4 years old and their families.  

The Head Start program does not discriminate against Race, Color, Sex, National Origin or Disabilities. Everyone is welcome to apply for enrollment this program is not just for Native Americans, anyone can participate.

Documents needed when applying include birth certificate, income verification, current immunization record, CDIB (if applicable) and health insurance.

For additional information call Little Rabbits Center (405) 247-3740, KCA Center (580) 354-1412 or Kiowa Tribe Head Start office (580) 654-2544.


The “Indian Road” south of Carnegie is now officially the “Native American Veterans Memorial Indian Road. 
Upper echelon officials of Fort Sill Military Base and Kiowa, Comanche, and Apache Tribes gathered together to show respect to fallen heroes, as well as all Veterans, by renaming the road in their honor.
The scene was Apache Dance Grounds with well over 400 spectators in attendance , while over 1700 viewed the event on the Kiowa Tribe’s Facebook page.
Cheers and “lulus” rang out as each of the Tribal Chairmen made comments on the event and recited names of the Fallen Warriors in each tribe.
Major General Brian J. McKiernan, Commanding General of Fort Sill, made the key note address and spoke of his pride serving in the military for 30 years and that Native Americans are always aware of their Tribal members in the military.
“When I’m among you, I’m among a community who never forgets and always finds a way to honor their service members, and so I thank you.”, said the Major General.​

​​​​The Housing Improvement Program is a home repair, renovation, replacement, and housing grant program administered by the Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA) federally-recognized Indian Tribes for American Indians and Alaska Native individuals and families who have no immediate resource for standard housing. To be eligible for HIP assistance, you must be a member of a federally recognized American Indian tribe or be an Alaska Native; live in an approved tribal service area; have an income that does not exceed 150% of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Poverty Guidelines; have present housing that is substandard, as defined in the regulations 25 CFR, Part 256; have no other resource for housing assistance; have not previously received HIP assistance for repairs, renovation, replacement or housing, or down payment assistance; and have not acquired your present housing through a federally sponsored housing program within the  previous 20 years. Interested applicants should contact Roman Johnson at the Southern Plains Region BIA for an application at 405-247-6120.

A package containing the application, guidelines, and required supporting documentation necessary in order to qualify for eligibility.

Some regulations have changed that may improve your status. If you have submitted an application in the past it is recommended that a new application be submitted for an update. A new category has been added to assist in down payments and the point system had been modified to enhance eligibility.