

KIOWA TRIBE

P.O. Box 369 · Carnegie, Oklahoma · 73015 Phone: (580) 654-6338 · Fax: (580) 654-1788 OFFICE OF THE LEGISLATURE

LEGISLATIVE ORDER KL-CY-2023-0XX

RESOLUTION IN AND FOR THE KIOWA TRIBE FOR THE ESTABLISHMENT AND OPERATION OF THE KIOWA TRIBE DISTRICT CHILDREN'S COURT:

At a duly called Legislative Regular Session () of the Legislature of the Kiowa Tribe held this day of, 2023, the following Order, was adopted.					
WHEREAS The Kiowa Tribe of Oklahoma is a federally recognized Indian Tribe with a Constitution approved by the Secretary of the Interior, and					
WHEREAS The Kiowa Legislature is authorized under the Kiowa Constitution and is empowered to promulgate and enforce codes and laws to protect our children who reside on Kiowa trust property and case transferred to it, and					
WHEREAS, The Federal Indian Child Welfare Act, 25 U.S.C. ss 1903(12) "Tribal Court" Provides Tribes the right to entertain CFR Courts, a court operated by a Children's Code or administrative body of a tribe vested with authority over child custody proceedings, and					
WHEREAS, The Kiowa Tribe has created a Kiowa Tribe District Children's Court for the jurisprudence of Kiowa Youth who may be in a civil or juvenile court setting.					
THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, the Kiowa Legislature, having been delegated certain authorities under the Kiowa Constitution, the governing body of the Kiowa Tribe, does hereby, by resolution, create a Juvenile Division and proclaim that the Kiowa Tribal District Children's Court be authorized; and by their hand affix their signatures to finalize this entity, as part of the Kiowa Tribe Judicial branch for children.					
CERTIFICATION					
The foregoing Resolution KL-CY-2023-0XX was duly voted upon by the Legislature on $_$, 2023, at a Legislative Order Session $_$ (), with a vote of () in favor and () opposed, () abstaining, and () absent, according to the authority vested in the Legislature by the Constitution of the Kiowa Tribe.					
Anita Johnson					
Secretary of the Legislature					

LEGISLATIVE ORDER – KLO-CY-2023-0XX

LEGISLATORS	YES	NO	ABSTAIN	ABSENT
	Hàu	Hàu:né	Háun á	Héñgyádàu
Kyle Ataddlety				
District #1				
Michael Primus				
District #2				
Timothy Satepauhoodle				
District #3				
Alana Quetone				
District #4				
Anita Johnson				
District #5				
Ben Wolf				
District #6				
Warren Queton				
District #7				